May 19, 2021

A reconvened meeting of the Russell County Board of Supervisors was held on Wednesday, May 19, 2021 at 5:00 pm at the Russell County Government Center in Lebanon, Virginia.

The Clerk called the meeting to order.

Roll Call by the Clerk:

Present:

Tim Lovelace Lou Wallace Carl Rhea David Eaton Steve Breeding Rebecca Dye Oris Christian

Lonzo Lester, Clerk Vicki Porter, Deputy Clerk

Absent:

None

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Motion made by Oris Christian, second Lou Wallace and duly approved by the Board of Supervisors to approve the agenda as amended.

The vote was:

Aye: Oris Christian, Lou Wallace, Carl Rhea, Tim Lovelace, David Eaton, Steve Breeding and Rebecca Dye

Nay: None

PUBLIC HEARING HELD ON THE FY 2021/2022 BUDGET & CY TAX RATES

Pursuant to being advertised in a local newspaper for two (2) consecutive weeks, a public hearing was held on the FY 2021/2022 Budget & CY Tax Rates. The Chair opened the public hearing to comments.

Kelly Mc Bride Delph, RCPL Director spoke about proposed library budget changes.

Hearing no other comments, the public hearing was closed.

New Business

The County Administrator highlighted the budget changes, updates, Covid 19 impact and tax collections. The Board asked questions and held discussions on various issues, including the DMV Select closure earlier this month.

Brad Patton, Dante Sewer Treatment Plant Manager and **Brian Ferguson**, Solid Waste Manager gave an update on the progress of the leachate haul by the County. Both commented that no issues had arisen since the County had started hauling on May 01.

APPROVAL TO ADVERTISE FOR A CIGARETTE/MEAL TAX ENFORCEMENT OFFICER

Motion made by David Eaton, second Lou Wallace and duly approved by the Board of Supervisors to advertise for an enforcement officer for the cigarette/meal tax.

The vote was:

Aye: David Eaton, Lou Wallace, Carl Rhea, Tim Lovelace, Steve Breeding, Rebecca Dye and Oris Christian

Nay: None

APPROVAL TO ADJOURN

Motion made by David Eaton, second Steve Breeding and duly approved by the Board of Supervisors to adjourn.

The vote was:

Aye: David Eaton, Steve Breeding, Tim Lovelace, Lou Wallace, Carl Rhea, Rebecca Dye and Oris Christian

Nay: None