November 08, 2018

A reconvened meeting of the Russell County Board of Supervisors was held on Thursday, November 08, 2018 at 3:00 pm at the Russell County Government Center in Lebanon, Virginia.

The Clerk called the meeting back to order.

Roll Call by the Clerk:

Present:

Tim Lovelace Lou Wallace Carl Rhea David Eaton Steve Breeding Rebecca Dye Harry Ferguson

Lonzo Lester, Clerk Vicki Porter, Deputy Clerk Katie Patton, County Attorney Ben Chafin, County Attorney

Absent: None

Invocation by Rebecca Dye, followed by the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag.

APPROVAL TO AMEND THE AGENDA

Motion made by Lou Wallace, second Tim Lovelace and duly approved by the Board of Supervisors to amend the agenda with the addition of a discussion concerning the Castlewood Water and Sewage Authority.

The vote was:

Aye: Lou Wallace, Tim Lovelace, Carl Rhea, David Eaton, Steve Breeding, Rebecca Dye and Harry

Ferguson Nay: None

APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

Motion made by Tim Lovelace, second Lou Wallace and duly approved by the Board of Supervisors to approve the agenda.

The vote was:

Aye: Lou Wallace, Tim Lovelace, Carl Rhea, David Eaton, Steve Breeding, Rebecca Dye and Harry

Ferguson Nay: None

EXECUTIVE (CLOSED) SESSION

Motion made by Harry Ferguson, second David Eaton and duly approved by the Board of Supervisors to enter into Executive (Closed) Session pursuant to 2.2-3712(5) to discuss prospective business matters.

The vote was:

Aye: Harry Ferguson, David Eaton, Lou Wallace, Tim Lovelace, Carl Rhea, Steve Breeding and Rebecca

Dye

Nay: None

APPROVAL TO RETURN TO REGULAR SESSION

Motion made by Harry Ferguson, second Tim Lovelace and duly approved by the Board of Supervisors to return to regular session.

CERTIFICATION OF CLOSED SESSION

Pursuant to § 2.2-3712(D) of the Code of Virginia 1950, as amended each member of the Board of Supervisors upon the Roll Call certifies that to the best of their knowledge (i) only public business matters lawfully exempted from the open meeting requirements under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act and (ii) only such public business matters that were identified in the motion(s) by which the closed meeting was convened were heard, discussed or considered in the meeting by the Board of Supervisors.

Tim Lovelace – Aye Lou Wallace – Aye Carl Rhea – Aye David Eaton – Aye Steve Breeding – Aye Harry Ferguson – Aye Rebecca Dye – Aye

Board Appointments

BILL HALE APPOINTED TO THE EQUALIZATION BOARD

Motion made by Carl Rhea, second Tim Lovelace and duly approved by the Board of Supervisors to appoint Bill Hale to the Russell County Equalization Board.

The vote was:

Aye: Carl Rhea, Tim Lovelace, Lou Wallace, Steve Breeding, David Eaton, Rebecca Dye and Harry

Ferguson Nay: None

BEE STUART APPOINTED TO THE EQUALIZATION BOARD

Motion made by Harry Ferguson, second David Eaton and duly approved by the Board of Supervisors to appoint Bee Stuart to the Russell County Equalization Board.

Aye: Harry Ferguson, David Eaton, Lou Wallace, Tim Lovelace, Carl Rhea, Steve Breeding and Rebecca Dye Nay: None
WILLIAM "DICKIE" SARGENT APPOINTED TO THE EQUALIZATION BOARD
Motion made by Harry Ferguson, second Carl Rhea and duly approved by the Board of Supervisors to appoint William "Dickie" Sargent to the Russell County Equalization Board.
Aye: Harry Ferguson, David Eaton, Lou Wallace, Tim Lovelace, Carl Rhea, Steve Breeding and Rebecca Dye Nay: None
New Business
APPROVAL OF A RESOLUTION OF SUPPORT FOR THE HANSONVILLE AGRICULTURAL INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AREA
Motion made by David Eaton, second Steve Breeding and duly approved by the Board of Supervisors to approve a Resolution of Support for the Hansonville Agricultural Industrial Development Area.
The vote was: Aye: David Eaton, Steve Breeding, Carl Rhea, Tim Lovelace, Lou Wallace, Harry Ferguson and Rebecca Dye Nay: None
APPROVAL TO ADJOURN
Motion made by David Eaton, second Carl Rhea and duly approved by the Board of Supervisors to adjourn.
The vote was: Aye: David Eaton, Carl Rhea, Tim Lovelace, Lou Wallace, Steve Breeding, Rebecca Dye and Harry Ferguson Nay: None
Clerk of the Board Chairperson
cierk of the board Chair betson